Snapcchat is an app that is built on temporarily available information. Your stories expire, and your chat messages expire. It’s what drives engagement with the app’a users. If you don’ engage with content when it’s available, you may not be able to do so later. Snapchat has added a new feature to its chat that allows you to delete a sent message on Snapchat. It works with both one-on-one chat threads, and with group chat threads. Here’s how to delete a sent message on Snapcaht.
Delete A Sent Message On Snapchat
You need to first update the Snapchat app to the latest version available. This feature is added, and works, by way of an app update. What this also means is that if your friends are using an older version of the app, you may not be able to delete a sent message within their chat thread.
Once you’ve updated the app, send a message to a contact that you know is running the latest version of the app. Tap and hold on the message you’ve just sent, and a menu will appear. It ought to have a ‘Delete’ option in there.
This feature needs quite a few conditions to be met in order for it to work. With our initial tests, the Delete button simply wouldn’t appear. When you first delete a message Snapchat tells you that it will try and remove it from your friends’ side however it may not always succeed in doing so. It sites poor internet, or an older version of Snapchat being the reason the delete might fail.
if (navigator.appVersion.indexOf(“Mac”)!=-1) document.write(”);
RECOMMENDED FOR YOU
When you delete a message, the action appears in the chat on your end only i.e., you will see ‘You deleted a chat’ message on your end however, your friend will not see this same message on their end.
The best way to make sure your message is deleted is to delete it as soon as possible. If your friend has seen a message, there is no taking it back which means with an active chat, you have very little time to react. With group chats, you have a little more leeway. It seems that as long as everyone in the group hasn’t seen the message, you can still take it back. We’ve deduced this based on the little demo that Snapchat gives of the new feature. If you have a group chat with 6 people in it, and you send a message that only 3 or 4 have seen, you can still take it back.